Skype for Business - Contact groups

In Skype for Business, you can organise all your contacts into groups. You can create new groups and add contacts to them.

Creating groups

To create a group:

  1. Right click on any group (for example Other Contacts) and click Create New Group.
  2. Enter a name for the group.
  3. To add a contact to that group, search for them, right click on the result, hover over Add to Contact List and click the list to add them to.

You can change the default grouping to be by Status or by Relationships.

You can also see who has added you recently by clicking the New filter.

To bring up more options for a contact, hover over their picture or status icon (the coloured square). Just hovering over their name will not bring up more options.

 

Privacy relationships

In Skype for Business, privacy relationships control how much of your presence information others see.

Each of your contacts has one of five privacy relationships with you, and each relationship gives access to a different amount of information. For example, Colleagues, which is the relationship new contacts are given by default when you add them, can learn more about where you are, when you’ll be available, and how to reach you than External Contacts but less than Workgroup. Friends and Family, as you might expect, can see more of this information than all the others.

Privacy settings

By default, everyone except Blocked Contacts can see your presence status.

To modify the privacy settings, you can do the following:

  1. In the Skype for Business main window, click the Options
  2. In the Options dialog box, click Status, and then do one of the following:
  3. Click I want everyone to be able to see my presence regardless of system settings (override default settings).
  4. Click I want the system administrator to decide - currently everyone can see my presence but this could change in the future.

Each contact has a privacy setting. Each privacy setting exposes a different set of your data to your contact. You can change the privacy setting for each contact by right clicking them and clicking Change Privacy Relationship.

For example, by putting a contact to Friends and Family they can see your contact details but not your meeting data.

By putting a contact in the Workgroup relationship they can interrupt your Do Not Disturb status.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.